Late Night Stomachaches and The Dead

I just finished doing my task: cook rice and viand.  For today, we had dried fish.  I don’t really enjoy cooking dried fish because the smell still reeks off in my hand even though I already applied alcohol.  I’m still not in my mood to eat yet – don’t get me wrong, I love dried fish – but i prefer to just lie down some more and listen to music.  I could hear (from my bedroom) the clanging of pots and plates from the kitchen, and the sounds of someone stirring coffee,

Last night was terrible.  By 12:32 am, I got a stomachache.  I mean, what the heck was that all about?  I was so sleepy at that time but i was forced to wake up to knock in the next room just to ask some efficascent oil.  I was all worried lying in my bed.  The ache seemed to crush my stomach.  Was it eating all my gut out? Is this what they call ulcer? Oh God, forbid!

Maybe it’s just a case of not using the blanket.

***

The boarding house is so clean I feel like studying.  I’m facing my “The Dead” readings by James Joyce.  I still haven’t read it, and I’m reluctant to do so.  But it’s no good telling this because in a moment or two I’m going to read it anyway.  So I just enjoyed myself browsing through Twilight book, or computing photocopy expenses, but later on I’d feel conscience-stricken about the fact that I have to read the “The Dead”.  Fine. I have to read it because it’s supposed to be tackled tomorrow in our Fiction class, and this would be my first time to read a James Joyce work.  Maybe, in due time, I’d read the Ulysses, but I don’t think the time is near enough for that.  🙂

I just can’t bear the thought of my photocopy expenses.  I’ve been wavering my allowance off for photocopies sometimes I feel like eating them when reading them.  Well, that would be a literal way of digesting them, you think?

So i guess, i have to read “The Dead” now.  Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

