Beach Bash and Beer Bottles

boiled eggs!

boiled eggs!

I just recently attended an annual Christmas party today with the Benedictine scholars held at the Bebot Beach, Santa Cruz.  The day started with the 7th misa de gallo in the monastery and I did the first reading.  By the time the mass was over, we had our breakfast – yummy hotdogs plus boiled eggs (you can say the ideal breakfast).  We prepared our own breakfast – we cooked rice, prepared food for our lunch later and washed our own plates.  By the time it was 8:00 am, we headed off to the beach.

The beach was (in my own opinion) better than the beaches near our locale.  When I first saw the sea, I felt like swimming you know – which is actually tempting and a dangerous thought at the same time, considering that I almost drown myself two years ago.  I didn’t really know the other fellow scholars, and it was really hard for me to get along with them, but I got lucky when we were given a chance to introduce ourselves.  So I got new friends now, lol.

Yep, we played sports (sport – to be exact, we only played volleyball) and some parlor games which includes our own version of the reality series “Amazing Race”.  I think everybody enjoyed the affair – the place is nostalgic, the food delicious and the people you deal with are those kinds that make you smile and feel welcome.

Even though I don’t freaking know how to play volleyball, I ended up playing it (and making a fool of myself): I don’t know how to serve, spike, hit (or whatever possible verbs that needed to be emphasized here).  I only stood there to get the team an excuse to have six players, but I enjoyed all the same since my teammates understood my sentiments and they kept on hitting the ball for me.  At that time I wished I knew how to play volleyball, but I’d realized that I still prefer soccer though (the choice of which, a little violent).

Lunchtime was enjoyable.  Time to talk and chat with the other students.  Topics would include major subjects being taken, math, computers, Eva Fonda, the beach, teachers, exams, even animal manures and ex-boyfriends.

Christmas cheers!

Christmas cheers!

Later in the afternoon, I had beer with my newly-acquainted friends, while watching other scholars swimming in the beach.  And I figured out that I had too much because I couldn’t seem to stand straight.  So I stayed for a minute in one corner and didn’t talk – or at least, limit myself to talking, lest I’d blurt something ‘interesting’ about me if you know what I mean.  But let me tell you that I drank beer because I need it (sorry, can’t tell you the reasons, but I assure you I’m no alcoholic) and it’s been a long time since I drank one.  And since today was a special occasion, I thought I needed some break.  But I had too much and it got me all worried for the next hours.  Lol.  Just to let you know, I don’t talk much when I’m drunk, and another beer-friend of mine said don’t let myself lose on such lame beer.  Thanks.

I just get lucky because after some dizzy moments not talking (and avoiding myself on the physical urge to sleep) I managed to come out unscathed with no secrets revealed.  You could say that I was extremely happy to see some trickles of sweat.  It’s over.

Right now, I’m fine.  I’m just worried (being slightly dizzy) since I’d be traveling back home if you know what I mean.  We continued to hang-out there for a couple of hours in the afternoon, and by 5pm, we went home.

Oh, I prefer brandy in case you ask, and I told my mother I drank ‘some’ beer.  Not really accurate, but she can get the whole idea.

Leave a Reply

