Tsukiakari

“Moonlight”

Performed by Rie Fu

Darker than Black 1st opening theme

Hei - Darker than Black

Hei - Darker than Black

Hey! Here’s the lyrics of one of my favorite songs I’ve ever listened to. Tsukiakari literally means “moonlight”, as tsuki is “moon” and akari is “light”. The song has a depth in terms of feelings and emotions to it, and although I didn’t readily understood the meaning of the song in English, you can feel this depth in terms of the melody of the song. Which is probably the reason why I really like this one.

The lyrics, composition and the performance are all attributed to Rie Fu, and the arrangement, to Tadashi Ueda under Palm Beach Inc. A TV size version of this song is also included to the official Darker than Black original anime soundtrack composed by Yoko Kanno, along with the first opening theme of the anime, Howling by Abingdon Boys School. This anime soundtrack was released on July 2007 by Aniplex Inc.

So here’s the lyrics guys! J I included the English translation of the original romaji lyrics too.

Original/Romaji lyrics

Aoi aoi sora ni tsuki no hikari wo tomosu

Amaku awaku omoi sonna mono ni torawarete

Kono tsukiakari no shita hitori shirazu

Kimi no namae dake wo yondeita

Itsumademo mirai wo sagashiteta

Kono hikari no naka ni…

Itsumo itsumo soba de shinjiteyuku chikara ga

Tooku moroi mono wo ugokashiteru ki ga shiteita

Kono tsukiakari no shita hitori shirazu

Kimi no namae dake wo yondeita

Shizukana aijou wo shinjiteta

Kono hikari no naka ni…

Nani mo tsukamenai you na yoru ni ha

Kimi wo omowanai toki ha nai

There isn’t a day that I don’t think about it

Mayou kokoro ga kimi ni todoku you ni

Kono tsukiakari no shita de watashi no

namae wo yonde

Tashika ni ainiyuku yo doko he demo

Kimi no soba ni

Kono tsukiakari matataki hitotsu sezu

Shizuka ni watashi wo mitsumeteita

Kimi to no mirai wo sagashiteita

Kono hikari no naka ni…

English Translation

In the blue, blue sky I turn to the moon’s light

Sweetly, faintly heavy – captured by things like that

Without knowing I’m alone underneath this moonlight

I called out only your name

I’ve been searching for the future forever,

Inside this light…

I’ve got a feeling those fragile things

are being moved far off

By the power of always, always

Believing you’ll be near me

Without knowing I’m alone underneath this moonlight

I called out your name

I believe in quite affection

Inside this light…

There’s never a time when I never think about you

There are nights when it feels like

I can’t catch hold of anything

There isn’t a day I don’t think about it

I hope this hesitating heart would reach you

Call out my name underneath this moonlight

I promise that I’ll go and see you

No matter where you are

To your side

Without blinking, not even once – in this moonlight

You quietly gazed at me

I’ve been searching for the future with you

Inside this light…

Leave a Reply

