My Summer Books and Your-Must-Reads

It’s been a long time since I didn’t get in touch with this blog, mainly because I was busy this summer. Even without summer classes, I’m pouring over stacks of books this summer. Lol. Not for academic purposes or so, just chillax.

I’m reading many books one after the other, as I’m easily bored concentrating on one book. Most of my books are collections of short stories, and some novels. I prefer not to read too many novels this summer because I’m prone to middle-of-the-book blues, or what you call midnovel blues. You know, when the enthusiasm with which you started out reading a book has evaporated. Most of the readers I know feel that.

Before I’d share what books I’m reading this summer I would like to share first my top four books that I’ve ever read. That’s as of the moment, as I’m constantly reading both the classics and the contemporary pieces. So here it is guys. I need suggestions of what books that I should read 😉

Anna Karenina

Anna Karenina

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – you gotta read this. This novel is kinda heavy for me, but you’d like it anyway. Tolstoy is a good writer, nevertheless.
  2. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – one of the most highly criticized book I’ve ever known, but it’s an excellent read. Nabokov’s language is the best there is.
  3. The HP Series – nothing beats the exciting series of Harry Potter for young readers like me.
  4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – I first read it when I was in high school because my sister keeps on nagging me to read it, but I didn’t manage to finish it back then. When I read it again in my British Literature class, I was so delighted because the novel is SUPERB! (So I guess it takes time to comprehend the complexities of Heathcliff and Catherine – and a little maturity too!)

And so these are the books I’m reading as of the moment, and I hope that in anytime now, you’ll read it too.

  1. The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne (novel)
  2. World’s Enough and Time by Dan Simmons (short stories/novella)
  3. In a House of Dreams and Glass by Robert Klitzman MD
  4. Prize Stories: O. Henry Awards 1985 (short stories)
  5. Azur Like It by Wendy Holden (novel)
  6. Vanilla Bright Like Eminem by Michel Faber (short stories)
  7. Germ by Robert Liparulo (novel)
  8. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (novel)

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to finish the whole bunch this summer, but it’s still good to know that you have the whole lifetime to read it anyway. XOXO

2 thoughts on “My Summer Books and Your-Must-Reads

  1. Lol…British literature class?

    Anyway, wow, heavy book reading. I think the HP series is the only one I’ve touched of your books. Maybe I’ll read some of them, if ever that is, the book selections at the local bookstore ever change.

Leave a Reply

