Bullet Updates

A brief rundown of updates about me lately:

  1. I just saw the list of candidate students for graduation – and yes, I saw my name in there but that doesn’t assure me anyway.  Why? I still don’t know my final grade in my Philosophy class (probably by far, the hardest class I’ve been into this semester) at least, not until April 5.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  I failed my second exam by one point, and I tell you, it’s disheartening.  Life goes on though, and I’m not being philosophical this way.
  1. I’m currently busy managing the final bound copies of my thesis collection, which is a collection of seven stories.  It’s entitled On Their Own Willful Departures and the title was taken from a line from one of my stories.  Lately, I realized my title was too long to fit the spine (I’m talking about the gold-plated lettering engraved on the spine) and so I have to shorten it too Willful Departures, although the front cover still retains the full title.  I figured out it would be weird to shorten it to On Their Own, and thanks to Mau for making me realize that.  She’s my personal mobile person, the person you can contact with any time of the day.
  1. Holy Week this week so I’m busy going in and out of the monastery.  For those of you who are not yet familiar with my spiritual outgoings, yes, I do serve our monastery here in our place (don’t worry I will blog about my search-in experience soon!).  Just this morning I went to the monastery to prepare for tomorrow’s Easter Sunday.  And I’m quite happy that the head priest actually set the thanksgiving mass for graduate students tomorrow.  It makes me happy, of course, and apprehensive at the same time.  I do hope I can graduate this month.
  1. No more school stuff to do (other than processing my graduation and clearance slips) so that means I got to see lots of movies for the past few weeks.  Some of the movies I’ve seen were:

    The Corleones

    1. The Godfather – Yes, I’ve been rooting for this movie eversince as it’s usually voted as the number 2 best film ever, next to Citizen Kane (which I haven’t seen yet.)  Al Pacino, the calm and collected Michael Corleone really rocked my boat.  I loved this movie.  I’ve read The Godfather novel by Mario Puzo first to prepare myself from this movie.  I’d say the movie live up with its grandeur that was there in the novel.

By the way, I love Sonny Corleone’s character, played by James Caan.

    1. The Godfather 2 – As good as the first godfather movie.  The rise of Michael Corleone.
    2. 21 – The first parts were promising scenes, but I don’t like the ending though.  I got a copy of the book, and I’m currently reading it.
    3. Yes Man – Feel-good kind of movie.  And why not.
    4. Body of Lies – a Ridley Scott movie.  I don’t understand it wholly, but I love it anyway.  Blame it on Leo.

I’m looking forward to other movies as well.  HBO Asia didn’t air The Godfather 3 but my friend says it’s okay because he’d like to pretend that movie didn’t exist.  Something tells me it’s a kind of let-down movie.  But at least now I know why Francis Ford Coppola is a legend.  I also love his film, Apocalypse Now.

The Pacific

I’m also looking forward for the back-to-back TV premiere of The Pacific on HBO every Saturday, 9pm.  Also, a couple of anime shows like Romeo and Juliet and Maid-Sama on Animax, and more TV premiere of movies like The International, Ghost Town, Confessions of a Shopaholic, Bedtime Stories, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Race to the Witch Mountain, Valkyrie, Killshot, Superhero Movie, Crossing Over, and many more – movies that I missed because I was too preoccupied with my studies.

  1. Blackout madness – Blackouts make me nuts these days.  A series of power interruptions here in Mindanao that usually last in 5 hours is kind of devastating for me.  Blame it on the energy crisis and El Niño.  It’s so hot these days.  So when a blackout strikes, I either sleep or pour myself over stacks of books.  Something productive to do on what seems like unproductive hours.
2 thoughts on “Bullet Updates

  1. I have spent some time pondering the relationship between Puzo’s THE GODFATHER and Machiavelli’s THE PRINCE though the parralels are not vastly obvious there is a strong similarity in the tutoring of the rising/new ruler. Here, in my old age I have the opportunity to reflect on such things and wondered if there was any scholarly discourse, or if this is too pedestrian a topic for the grat thinkers of academia.

    • I agree – i think in terms of “power” issues, one might find the parallelism between Don Corleone and Machiavelli’s idea of The Prince. Simply put, one might wonder, if Don Corleone fits Machiavelli’s qualifications of his ideal ruler.

Leave a Reply

