Word from Wormingford by Ronald Blythe

My Initial Encounter

Word from Wormingford

I took a second look on a book that I bought the other day and I just realized it’s a spiritual/religious book.  Oh shoot.  I’m not just ready for these kinds of material.  I always tell myself I still don’t have the necessary temperament to deal with the sublimity these books have.

Maybe if I got a little bit older I probably would find the comfort with the company of my books, particularly this one.

The book was entitled “Word from Wormingford” written by Ronald Blythe.  Honestly, I bought it because I thought the author sounded familiar, only to find out I must have mistaken him as Robert Bly, the renowned American poet and author.  One of my professors quoted Bly sometime in class.

The book is a sort of a religious journal, a brief day to day account of the writer while he was staying at Wormingford.  On the first entry entitled “Advent”, he talks about stream of consciousness which I can relate to (as this topic had been discussed in all my creative writing classes before).

[…] a description by the philosopher William James of the unstoppable flow of thoughts and feelings which runs through all our heads…how they stream past to quick for pen or tape.  There is no getting them down, not the best of them.  Writers are often in a quandary due to knowing that what gets on to the page is no more than a sad shadow of what, that very minute, had been pouring through their brains.”

“Advent”, page  3

I love that part when he described the ‘stream of consciousness’, the ‘metaphor is that of a stream, there was an irregularity in it.’  Perhaps it’s the best description of that writing technique I have ever read.

But as I said, this book is a spiritual one so I’m not surprise when the writer said that “the religious mind has, more than any other mind than that of a poet and artist, tried hard to navigate this stream, to follow it, to chart it.”

I’d like to have a stream of my own, but sad to say if ever I would have that, it might not be as spontaneous as it’s supposed to be.  In the future I’d try my best to loosen up, without getting lost, in the process.

Leave a Reply

