6 out of 100 novels

In Time Magazine’s list of All Time 100 Novels, I’ve read only 6 out of the lot.  Other people expected me to read at least more than half (since I’m an English major) but to tell you the truth, I’m a slow reader.  Even more honest is that I find the classics really tedious to read even though some are rewarding and worth the effort.

Still I want to read the rest of the list, which means there are still 94 books for me to find.

Here are the 6 novels that I’ve read so far:

  • The Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
  • The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  • The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  • Revolutionary Road – Richard Yates
  • Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe

I’m currently reading Call It Sleep by Henry Roth to add to the list.  I find this novel interesting, knowing that it is the only novel that the writer wrote for his lifetime.

And just to let you know, these are some of the novels I tried to read, but gave up in the process (Perhaps, I’m not yet ready to contain the experience of these novels or I’m too young for them).

  • Atonement  – Ian McEwan
  • Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  • Possession – AS Byatt
  • To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
  • The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
Leave a Reply

